Communism And After: 1991–2021 – A Conversation with Two Scholars Who Witnessed And Took Part in Russia’s Transition From Soviet Rule

Communism And After: 1991-2021 - A Conversation with Two Scholars Who Witnessed And Took Part in Russia’s Transition From Soviet Rule

Veranstalter
The British Association for Slavonic and East European Studies
Veranstaltungsort
ZOOM
PLZ
NR47TJ
Ort
Norwich
Land
United Kingdom
Vom - Bis
12.10.2021 - 12.10.2021
Von
Matthias Neumann, History, University of East Anglia

Prof Mark Harrison (University of Warwick) will be in conversations with Prof Vladimir Mau, Rector of the Russian Presidential Academy of National Economy and Public Administration (RANEPA) and Prof Vladimir Gel’man, Professor at the European University at St.Petersburg and at the University of Helsinki. The discussion will be introduced by Prof Judith Pallot (Vice President of BASEES).

Communism And After: 1991-2021 - A Conversation with Two Scholars Who Witnessed And Took Part in Russia’s Transition From Soviet Rule

This year we are marking the 30th anniversary of the collapse of the Soviet Union. When the three presidents of Russia, Belarus and Ukraine came together in December 1991 and signed the Belovezha Accords, they not only formally ended a drawn-out process of demise with the dissolution of the world’s oldest socialist state, but also started a process of reconfiguring the regional and global order. The multiple and complex legacies of this watershed moment are there with us to this day and will be explored in a series of BASEES Talks this autumn.

In the first event, Prof Mark Harrison (University of Warwick) will be in conversations with Prof Vladimir Mau, Rector of the Russian Presidential Academy of National Economy and Public Administration (RANEPA) and Prof Vladimir Gel’man, Professor at the European University at St.Petersburg and at the University of Helsinki, inviting them to reflect on their participation in the political and economic transition of the 1990s. The discussion will be introduced by Prof Judith Pallot (Vice President of BASEES, University of Oxford / University of Helsinki)

Tuesday, 12 October, 7:00-8:30PM (Helsinki/Moscow), 6:00-7:30PM (Berlin), 5:00-6:30PM (London), 12noon-1:30PM (New York)

On ZOOM

Kontakt

m.neumann@uea.ac.uk

https://us06web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_NTOWiktnRcmZNgWRldxg9g